hair

A wigalicious winter?

Last winter, I had been natural for a few months and my hair wasn’t long enough to do much with – including protective styles. I didn’t know what products to use and the winter – the dry, cold, bitter Canadian winter – was getting ready to deal cruelly with my kinks.

In November, I got my hair twisted with some hair I had knocking around the house. It was just a few weeks away from Christmas and I had enough to pay for – gifts, decorations, dinners out with friends, the big Christmas meal (that was at my house for the first time!) – why spend more on hair? I got the braids done and I hated them. Not because my braider didn’t do a good job, but the hair I had used sucked. Yeah, it was bad.

By New Year’s Day, I had had enough and resorted to taking the braids out after only a month. I decided to try out two-strand twists and then do a twist out (pretty much, just opening the twists to get a curly extured ‘fro). I wasn’t sure what it was going to look like, but it had to be better than the braids. On Monday morning – back to work after the holidays – I slapped my jaunty cream beret on top of a head full of curls (it looked marvelous) and I was off to brave against freezing temperatures, bitter winds and precipitation of all types.

Fast forward to 2009. There are three months before winter cuffs me down and the weather is already changing. I have my braid appointment (with good hair) on October 31. But braids aren’t cheap and spending all day at the salon isn’t something I look forward to. So I was thinking… what about a wig?

Yes, a wig. I said it.

I could have chosen a picture exposing the glue on Bey's lacefront, but I'm not a hater.
I could have chosen a picture exposing the glue on Bey's lacefront, but I'm not a hater.

Normally, I scorn wigs and weaves on my own head. Weaves don’t look right on me and my scalp hates them. I was convinced that a wig would look equally bad. I had toyed with the idea of a straight wig so that I would never have to put heat in my hair again… but I worried that the wig would look like many of the wigs that I’ve seen. I’m not trying to walk into work with obviously false hair on my head. I’ve seen enough bad wigs to tremble at the very thought: the plasticky, overly shiny hair, the horribly fake part, having to tug it into place in public because it’s drooped or twisted – ugh.

Toronto has an excess of bad lacefront wigs and I blame Beyoncé. Over this past summer, I’ve seen at least 15 young women with cheap lacefronts that look worse than a regular wig. It’s wrong, people. I’m willing to have a lacefront barbecue at my place – we’ll take all the dried up looking lacefronts – you know who you are – and burn them.

But I digress.

Two weekends ago, I was trolling YouTube and came across a number of vloggers who deal exclusively with wigs… and they looked good! Check them out here and here.

Could it be? Could I rock a wig for part of the winter to protect my hair? These are the ones I’m thinking of:

Isn't this pretty? I don't know what it would look like on my head, but it looks great on her...
Isn't this pretty? I don't know what it would look like on my head, but it looks great on her... This is Freetress Honolulu Girl, $22.99 USD
Don't look at the colour -- that's horrific and I don't know why they'd photograph it looking like this. Anyhoo, this is Freetress Bali Girl -- a bit over the top, but still cute. It retails for $22.99 USD.
Don't look at the colour -- that's horrific and I don't know why they'd photograph it looking like this. Anyhoo, this is Freetress Bali Girl -- a bit over the top, but still cute. It retails for $22.99 USD.
Another Freetress wig: this one is Rihanna and is $39.99 Cdn.
Another Freetress wig: this one is Rihanna and is $39.99 Cdn. I'm worried about this one because I can't see what the back looks like. No one likes a wig that looks wiggish because the back doesn't look right.

Cheap and cheerful! That’s what I like! I’d still rock my braids because I love my braids, but for the week or two in-between braids, a wig could do the job!

What do you think? Would you wig-it-out for winter 2009/2010 as a protective style?

7 thoughts on “A wigalicious winter?”

  1. actually I would say go for it. I really love the last one. I am thinking with the first two of my problem now where the hair rubs against your clothing and knots up in the back. You can’t run your fingers through it because it may come off if you hit a kink. I would really go for the short one. SOOO cute and Chic.

    1. The first person to help me with my wig decision!! Thanks Shannon! I don’t want it coming off in a meeting — I am notorious for playing with my hair in meetings — that would not be the business. The last one is hot, ain’t it? I’m still researching, but that one’s still on the list of possibilities.

  2. i have the rihanna. that’s last year’s style. if you buy GOOD quality wigs, the kinking that another poster mentioned is not an issue. vanessa makes the best synth wigs, hands down. have you ever seen my wigs kinked? i. don’t. THINK. so.

    1. I believe the Rihanna would kink — especially feeling it in the store. The straight one, Korina, that I bought, I don’t think it will. The hair feels like pretty good quality. Who is this Vanessa? I’ve never heard of the brand…

Leave a Reply

