Doing the 'do, hair experiments..., Healthy Ends Challenge

Hairlista’s Healthy Ends Challenge – who’s in?

I’m thinking about joining Hairlista’s Healthy Ends Challenge. The challenge runs from today, October 8 to April 8, 2010. I am focusing on retaining length over this winter and I think that this challenge will help me reach my goal (which is to be fully shoulder length when stretched by Spring 2010).

Here are the rules:

1. Moisturize with a water based moisturizer and seal with a natural oil at least 1x/day. (Start at your ends and work your way up. It’s best to moisturize in sections) – This will definitely be new — I tend to moisturize and seal on wash days…

2. Low manipulation – Protective style (clip up, buns, wigs, weave, braids etc.) your hair as much as possible. Use wide tooth combs or finger comb (do not comb dry hair, moisturize first!). Using a 100% natural boar bristle brush is fine for your edges and nape. Less combing/brushing/tugging is more gentle on the cuticles and hair shaft – Cool. I have this one down ’cause I’m planning to braid in three weeks.

3. Heat Pass – Every 2-3 months. Heat is the EASIEST and QUICKEST way to dry out your ends. I don’t use heat at all these days… although I was tempted to blow dry my hair. The last time I used heat was in May just before the Major Trim of ’09.

4. Dust ends frequently – Dust any amount that’s comfortable for you. As a guideline, dust off 1/4 inch every 2-3 months or 1/2 inch every 3-5 months. This will help maintain fuller thicker ends. Do not hold on to thin ends to claim length. I am planning to do a trim before I get the braids put in.

5. Keep up with your Protein Treatments – These treatments will fortify the cuticle and strengthen the hair/ends. Protein will give the hair structure, strength and thickness. Your ends need it i.e. 1x/week, bi-weekly, or monthly. Yep, this will be new as well. I don’t usually do protein treatments. The last time I did, which was last month, I wasn’t entirely impressed.

6. Deep Condition at least 1x/week – pay close attention to the last 3 inches of your hair. I used to do this, but I’ve fallen off. So, this would be good to get back into.

7. Relaxed ladies listen up: Protect your hair from relaxer run off. Coat your ends/previously relaxed hair with Vaseline, oil or conditioner. Remember to Neutralize a minimum of 3 times. This doesn’t apply to me, but if any of the relaxed girls out there are interested in the challenge, it’s for you!

8. Must upload a before and after photo at the END of the challenge. Take a beginning photo (it’s up to you if you want to share it now) and save it until you are done the challenge. Once the challenge is done, upload both photo’s so that you can see your progress. You’ll be AMAZED!! That’s no problem….

So what do you think, lurkers and commenters? Who’s going to join me? I will be updating everyone on what my hair is looking like throughout the challenge.

13 thoughts on “Hairlista’s Healthy Ends Challenge – who’s in?”

  1. My challenge is not to perm my hair between that period. Let’s see if I can get through that first 🙂 Good luck with the challenge!

  2. I will……I received the products from Blended Beauty and just that vanilla smell alone will have me going back for more. I bought the kid’s shampoo (can’t use the conditioner yet because I would have to wash out the hair twice and its hard enough just to shampoo and wash out a toddler’s hair). Also got the Butter me up to use as a leave in after a wash and the natural hair oil for whenever I have to comb her hair. So far I love using them but have to see if I’ll get a good six months usage to determine if the products are worth the price.

  3. She hates combing her hair so I’m not sure if the products will her but hopefully they’ll help me 🙂 I want to be able to give them the tools needed to take care of their hair, so that they’ll fall in love with it at a young age and never have the trials and tribulation most black women have with their hair. In all honestly her hair isn’t hard to manage, she just has that fear that all little black girls have of combing their hair. I have only washed once so far with the shampoo and I thought the hair felt very moist after I washed and not as hard as before. I’m washing her hair every 2 wks so I’ll send you an update. The natural hair oil is not heavy and doesn’t leave a heavy residue so that’s a good thing. Also because the smell is so subtle it doesn’t make the hair smell “dirty” in like three days. I found some of the kids grease in the beauty supply had a very strong perfumey smell which left the hair smelling “dirty” after three days or so. I would like to be able keep the moisture locked in the hair more, but I think she’s too young for “stocking foot” (hope you know what that is ).

  4. I’ve recently decided to grow out my perm abd go natural. I’ll be getting braids at the end of the month, and keeping braids throughout the winter, getting trims in between. I plan to gradually trim off my perm rather than do the BC. I’ll probably be doing a quasi challenge as I grow out this hair. Any advice you can suggest?
    A

    1. What you’re doing is great. The less manipulation, the better. Just be careful of your edges, that the braids don’t pull them out. But aside from that, your hair will be your best friend because you have it nicely protected from this wicked Canadian winter — you see outside today? Chupse. Until then, buns are your best bet to keep your ends protected. Make sure to keep your hair nicely moisturized and you should be good to go 🙂

Leave a Reply

