Doing the 'do, hair

I have scalp issues. Sniff.

I’ve always had scalp problems. When my hair was relaxed, most of my issues were from washing my hair with shampoos with coconut-based ingredients. I no longer use commercial shampoos, so I’ve alleviated that problem.

Unfortunately, this week, my scalp is acting like a fool.

Granted, I normally wash it twice a week, but as the weather gets colder I’m so not interested in that. If I can wash once a week, I will be happier. Who likes washing their hair in -15 degree weather. Really?

It’s been six days since I’ve washed my hair and my scalp is dry, itchy and flaking in some spots. I’m wondering if it’s the weather. I used to oil my scalp regularly with castor oil and olive oil, but I’ve fallen off. Tonight I’m washing my hair and I’m going to oil my scalp — hopefully that will help.

Lovely readers, do you have any suggestions about what I can do to stop the dryness, itchiness and the dreaded flakiness? All suggestions are welcomed!

2 thoughts on “I have scalp issues. Sniff.”

  1. I’ve had the same problem for a while now and it’s definitely frustrating. I really do try and oil my scalp 2-3 times a week, especially before going to bed. I’ve started shampooing again, but use a pretty good moisturizing one by Neutrogena, and alternate with an ACV rinse which works soooo good! Helps with a lot of scalp problems. Only other thing is a making a really good hair rinse…with ACV or other root herbs that help alleviate the itchies or dandruff. I think Burdock Root and Willowbark, Nettle, & Marshmallow are all good choices;-)

    1. Sigh. It makes me so miserable. I’ve gotten rid of a lot of the flakiness and itchiness by getting rid of the shampoos. I just washed and oiled my scalp, so hopefully that will help. I’m going to try nettle (my mother’s been talking about it) and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

