hair, product junkie-ism

Empire State of Mind

While I’m not down with Jay-Z (folks, some of the rumours online have me scratching my head and saying, ‘for real, for real?’), I am getting into an Empire State of Mind! Next week, I’ll be in New York City – The Hubby and I are visiting family for American Thanksgiving and I’m going to try to get some shopping in.

I’ll be looking for work clothes, some electronics (iPod Touch… it’s Urban Sista calling, ready to take you home), Christmas gifts and music (why is HMV trying to charge me $21.99 for Eric Roberson’s new CD Music Fan First. Really, HMV? At amazon.com, it’s only $12.99. Chupse!). I am going to get my hands on some hair products. Yes, I’m on a product hiatus and my hair is twisted up, so there really is no good reason for me to be shopping…

No good reason, but there is a reason! There are so many fabulous finds in the States that I’m hard-pressed to find here. I can get them online, but then I have to pay ridiculous amounts for shipping and handling and I’m not willing to do that.

So, here’s my hair shopping list (I don’t expect that I’ll get everything – I can’t spend the entire holiday dragging The Hubby and my family to various hair stores, boutiques and drugstores across Brooklyn, Queens and Newark, NJ):

Kimble Hair Care Systems: I’m intrigued by this line. I hadn’t heard of it until last week when I was doing some online pre-shopping at Target. For those of you who don’t know of Kimberly Kimble, she’s styled Beyoncé, Mary J. Blige, Vanessa Williams and Kerry Washington and she has a salon in West Hollywood, CA. I haven’t seen many reviews of her products online – I was hoping to get an idea of what could possibly work for me. I guess I’m just going to jump in blind. These are the ones I’m planning to purchase: Ginger Cream conditioner, Honey and Oatmeal Moisturizing Treatment, Bounce Back Curling Revitalizer (for when I try my wash ‘n’ go again… I never did write about that fiasco) and Hair Butter.

Karen’s Body Beautiful: I’ve wanted to try out this line for a while now. The shop is in Brooklyn and I hope I can stop by when I am on my way to see my cousins. I’m thinking about picking up KBB’s Hair Nectar, it’s a leave-in conditioner. Seeing that I’m thinking about parting ways with my Infusium 23, I’m gonna need a new leave-in. I hope that it’s creamy, because I’m about done with watery leave-ins.

Kinky-Curly: It’s an online sensation – people love Kinky-Curly Curling Custard and I’m prepared to bring it into my fold. I can order Kinky-Curly online through www.honeyfig.com, but I will see if I can get a break on price in the city that doesn’t sleep. I like the fact that it’s all-natural, but I’m not sure if it contains any ingredients that I’m allergic to. I also want to try Knot Today leave-in – it’s creamy! I’ve heard it works wonders, but I’ve also heard that it doesn’t play well with other brands. So, if I do buy it, KCCC will have to come home with me as well – barring any ingredients that my scalp doesn’t like.

Wigs, wigs and more wigs!: After watching Chris Rock’s Good Hair, I am wary of where I buy my hair products in New York – the whole freezing Black people out of the industry does not sit well with me. With barely any help from you (yes, you. Hmmph!), I am planning to purchase two wigs: a straight one and a curly one. I’m not sure what styles yet – I am loving the Shake-N-Go Freetress Equal Wig, Rihanna and the Shake-N-Go Freetress Band FullCap, Monroe Girl. We’ll see if I can get into a hair store that’s not questionable. I did hear about a hair store in Scarborough at Malvern Town Centre that may be able to hook me up if NYC is not the place… but I hope it is, because I like the prices.

The rest of my hair purchases will be spur of the moment – if I see something interesting, I’ll pick it up – within reason, of course, I do have a budget.

Next week, posting will be light. I’ll be back to share my Big Apple exploits with you the following week.

Leave a Reply

