Doing the 'do, hair

What’s the point of having long hair…

… if it’s forever in a protective style or under a wig?

I was just reading someone’s hair profile (yes, people do write up hair profiles with the who, what, where, when and how of their natural journey), and a woman was showing pictures of her bra strap length (BSL) hair. But she says that never wears it out, it’s always under a wig or in a protective style.

I know that you have to do those things to retain length. My question is what’s the point of growing your hair to a crazy length to never show it? I don’t think you have to wear it out every day, but I know that I’m not going to enjoy having BSL hair if I’m scared for it to be exposed. Besides, I like playing around with my hair — that’s the fun of having natural hair: versatility.

To me, it’s like having your nails done and looking hot and wearing gloves 24/7. I have great nails, but no one will ever see them.

I think you can balance protective styles and wearing your hair out. For a good chunk of this winter I was in protective and low manipulation styles – kinky twists, wigs, two-strand twists. My hair grew, but I kept saying this summer, I’m going to be wearing some sick styles. You best believe, my hair will be out and blowing in the wind. (Maybe not blowing, but you know what I  mean.)

So what you do think? Protective styles all the dang time or only some of the time?

6 thoughts on “What’s the point of having long hair…”

  1. I came back early today because I so enjoyed reading yesterday’s post. The ending was perfect. Think I’m going to print it and save it. Can I? Would that be a copyright infringement? I think some people like just doing things for them and enjoy how it makes them feel. Its that inner competitive spirit that we all have, where we don’t have to prove to no one but our ourselves that we can attain what it is we want to attain. I might not get the concept of someone going through that process just to hide their hair but I’m okay with someone just wanting to do what makes them feel good. I would hope that in the process of growing her hair to a certain length, that person is still enjoying the rest of what this life has to offer and don’t get too obsessive about hair. I’m of the realization that my protective styles will probably come with the help of others, ie, braids, twists, maybe that will change when I have more hair to play with but as of right now I’m just enjoying the freedom of the wash and go.

  2. I agree…I don’t think it necessary to wear protective styles 24/7. It is a personal choice, but wearing it out and switching up styles does not have to mean “death” to your hair. Everything in moderation, right?

  3. I think it really depends on what you prefer – and how important a reaching a certain length is. And I guess it really depends on your own hair and how much ‘protection’ it needs. I listened to Kimmaytube’s post on this subject – and I think like she says, it just depends on what you want and that you have to acknowledge, that you might not be able to have it both ways, all the time. Maybe it’s a matter of reaching a certain length and then maintaining that length from there – not worry about continued length… I don’t know, I know for me, that I prefer to wear my hair in pulled back anyway – which can be any number of ‘protective’ styles. My only goal is to have healthy hair that is long enough to pull back. I don’t like to fuss over hair to begin with. Ya, I’m lazy 🙂

  4. Thanks for the input, ladies! I asked because sometimes, in the natural hair community, people are caught up in wearing all of these protective styles with wigs, weaves, braids, etc. and it seems a bit obsessive to me. Like if a breeze hits your hair it’s going to drop out of your scalp. I know that protective styles are important, but there is a fear about letting your hair breathe.

    I am going to get back into my protective styles for spring, but it has been nice these last two weeks to wear my hair twisted out and fluffy. Meh. I guess I like playing around in my head all the time and I wonder why other people don’t 🙂

    @Sidjazz – I don’t think it would be copyright infringement unless you tried to sell the post. Even if you tried, I don’t think anyone would buy it 😉

  5. Okay thank you! Don’t be too sure, stranger things have been sold and bought! I must admit that I love your hair all big, fluffy and twisted too. Gives me the inspiration to want to see this through. I see where you’re coming from, since I have BC my hand is always in my hair playing with it. With the weather we’re having for the next few days it seems like summer is already here, but alas, this is Canada and I’m sure we’ll get back to spring some time next week.

  6. I have decent length natural hair, and I refuse to wear weaves, wigs etc….I know I will have to do protective hair styles, but I’m with you, why have hair and hide it? I could simply cut all my hair off and wear a weave!

Leave a Reply

